BG4I-12 < BG4I-13 Buddhagupta - The Four Immeasurables > BG4I-14

སེམས་ཅནསྙིང་དུ་སྡུག་པདང། ཐ་མལ་པདང། སྙིངདུམི་སྡུག་པཡིན་པི་རྣམ་པའདིགསུམཡོད་པ་ལས སེམས་ཅནསྙིང་དུ་སྡུག་པལ་ཡངགསུམདུདབྱེསྟེ རབ་འབྲིང་ཐ་མགསུམདོུ། །སེམས་ཅནཐ་མལ་པདངམི་སྡུག་པལ་ཡངགསུམདུདབྱེསྟེ རབ་འབྲིང་ཐ་མསྟེ དགུརུདབྱེ་བབྱས

There are three types of sentient beings: 1) those one cherishes, 2) those one is indifferent towards, and 3) those one dislikes. Cherished sentient beings can then be further subdivided into three: greater, middling, and lesser. Likewise, those one is indifferent towards and those one dislikes can also be subdivided into the three categories of greater, middling, and lesser. So, in all, there are nine divisions.